I'm on a Nabokov kick. He's someone who fell through the cracks for me and it was on my list of things to do this year to fix that. I read "Laughter In The Dark" a few weeks ago and liked it a lot.
I've tried to read "Lolita" before but in two attempts could not get beyond the introductory section. Talk about a book that you've heard too much about to give it a fair shake.
But now, at long last, my turn at the Books on Tape version of "Lolita" has come up at the library. Jeremy Irons reads. It's amazing. It's creepy and delightful and the writing is almost beyond description. And English was what -- Nabokov's third language?
So, what's the point of pushing on with my own writing?
I'm up early but I'm not sure. It's a little misty so I don't want to exercise yet. I think I will go eat hazelnut pancakes and decide in an hour or two. I'll bring my notebook and my most recent short story and decide once I've had some carbohydrates.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment